Reality Check

My 16 year old daughter and I have always spent time together shopping, eating out, going to the movies, etc. for “Mother-Daughter” days.

Well, today started as one of those days until we went in different directions and she went on one of her longest journeys away from home alone.  If she weren’t a responsible and honest teen, it would have been out of the question.  My husband and I trusted her judgement enough to allow it.

That’s not to say I was calm inside.  Ha!  I was on pins and needles until she came home, although maintaining contact with her via phone was somewhat of a solace.  I knew these days would come too quickly when she was a small child and I have learned to accept that.  However, deep down, there is a part of me that never wants to let her go.  The same goes for my son, who at 19 months of age, exudes a fierce sense of independence. 

She amazes me every day and I’m so proud of the young woman she has become,

They both will always be my babies!  

Leave a Reply

